Two Campuses Recognized as Federal Reward Schools

May 4, 2015


Dr. Mark Henry, CFISD superintendent of schools, joins Principal Tonya Goree and students at Lee Elementary School at the sixth annual CFISD Technology Festival on April 30 at the Berry Center. Lee won the TEA Reward School status in the high-performing category. 

May 1, 2015—Two CFISD campuses have been identified as federal Reward Schools—under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA)—by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).

The State of Texas secured a conditional waiver from the U.S. Department of Education for specific provisions of the ESEA, commonly known as the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001, which identified Reward Schools.

One CFISD campus, Lee Elementary School, won the Reward School status in the high-performing category. Campuses earned this honor if they were a Title I school with distinction designations in reading and math and met all federal system safeguard targets at 79 percent. Only 32 Region IV campuses earned this recognition. 

Two campuses received Reward School status in the high-progressarea: Lee Elementary School and Hairgrove Elementary School. This honor was awarded to Title I campuses that earned the distinction designation for “progress measure” and met all the federal system safeguard targets of 79 percent in reading and math. Only 28 Region IV campuses earned this recognition.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.